The following is part of a forum at Revision3.com where a tech was complaining about problems with windows and the fact of shortage of money in their  school district. I had an obvious reply.

[quote]most of the machines we use are snail slow running xp.[/quote]

You may want to consider Linux. Linux makes old computers fast again. Schools are flocking to linux and dumping MSWindows around the world. I can list hundreds of school districts even in the US who are converting. I won’t bore you with the details, unless you want me to. At least start a pilot project on just one machine. We use the Linux Terminal Server Project software (see k12ltsp.org). It has saved our small school thousands of dollars in licensing fees alone that can go for other needs. We also have been able to thwart the cost of new machines by taking existing systems and thin clients then converting them to diskless clients. (No more sneaker-net replacing and reimageing hard drives!!) I have not had to purchase a new machine for myself in five years. I will put linux up against any new MSWindows box in speed for most things that people do. I even have an old pentium 1 laptop that still works great with the help of linux. There are quite a few live gui easy to use cd’s to test linux without installing it. There is even a live dvd to test LTSP without installing it. Here are the links for the iso’s.

32 bit – http://alt.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt…86-stable4.iso
64 bit – http://alt.fedoraproject.org/pub/alt…64-stable4.iso

I have not tried this particular disk as it just came out, but plan to do so this week. There is even an alternative to most of the high priced software required for use in a Apple or Microsoft world at:

http://www.linuxalt.com/

Save our tax dollars!

